September 19, 2009

Salad Box Sprouts

Posted in Uncategorized at 12:52 pm by HarvestMan

First sprouts are up!

Salad box success! These are the first sprouts of the ‘Rat’s Tail’ radish seeds I put out in the salad box. Aren’t they cute? ‘Rat’s Tail’ is an heirloom variety, originally from Java, that doesn’t produce edible roots but makes lots of spicy seed pods. It isn’t the most appealing name for a food crop, but I won’t care what they’re called when I’m eating delicious pickled seed pods this winter.

2 Comments »

  1. Farmer John said,

    I didn’t know you could pickle seedlings!! I guess you can pickle anything. What is your recipe?

    • HarvestMan said,

      I won’t be pickling the seedlings, but the seed pods that these radishes will produce. Sorry if that wasn’t clear. I actually don’t have a recipe yet – I was planning on tasting the raw seed pods and then sort of playing it by ear with whatever spices would compliment the flavor. Thanks for commenting!


Leave a comment